Four Legislators Honored by NHA for Championing Waterpower Legislation

Lawmakers were instrumental in the passage of the bipartisan Infrastructure Bill, supporting the modernization and expansion of the U.S. hydropower fleet

The National Hydropower Association (NHA) have announced the four members of Congress who received the NHA Legislator of the Year award for their roles in championing waterpower legislation through the House and Senate.

The recipients honored during NHA’s annual policy conference, Waterpower Week, were Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Rob Portman (R-OH), Representative Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH), and former Representative Don Young (R-AK).Most notably, these legislators championed the bipartisan Infrastructure and Investment Jobs Act which became law in November 2021. Bringing a record amount ($2.4 billion) of funding and investment to the waterpower industry, the law included investments into dam safety, upgrades and expansion of existing hydropower facilities, and dam removal.

“Thanks to the dedicated work of these four legislators, the waterpower industry is receiving a critical investment toward preserving, modernizing, and expanding the existing hydropower fleet,” said NHA’s President and CEO, Malcolm Woolf. “With the enactment of the bipartisan infrastructure bill and the continued support of waterpower champions like the award recipients, hydropower, pumped storage, and marine energy are now being recognized for their major role in securing our clean energy future.”

Former Representative Don Young’s congressional staff accepted the award on his behalf posthumously.

Waterpower Week is NHA’s annual national policy conference. Asset owners, developers, manufacturers, government agency officials, tribes, congressional policymakers, NGOs and other waterpower industry stakeholders come together to discuss waterpower’s role in the clean energy future.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *